top of page

Instrument Proficieny Check (IPC)

 

An Instrument Proficiency Check (IPC) is necessary if the instrument experience requirements in order to serve as pilot in command (PIC) under IFR or in weather conditions less than the minimums prescribe for VFR are no longer met. These requirements are:

 

Within the preceding 6 calendar months performed and logged under actual or simulated IFR conditions either in flight in the appropriate category of aircraft for the instrument privileges sought or in a flight simulator or flight training device that is representative of the aircraft category for the instrument privileges sought:

  • at least 6 instrument approaches

  • holding procedures

  • intercepting and tracking courses through the use of navigation systems

 

An Instrument Proficiency Check conducted by the US-Flight Training Center consists of two parts:

 

Ground School: Discussion of the regulations and procedures relevant to IFR flying, emergency procedures, weather information, flight planning incl. charts.

 

Practical Training: Flying of the common precision and non-precision approaches incl. missed approach procedures, STARs and SIDs, full / partial panel exercises, recovery from unusual attitude, radial intercepts (VOR) and magnetic bearings (NDB), holdings, simulation of emergencies. Basis and limits are the Airman Certification Standards (ACS) for obtaining the Instrument Rating.

 

Validity: 6 calender months until the end of the month. Within the following 6 months the pilot can fly the required approaches, holdings and intercepts with a safety pilot. Should the criteria thereafter still not be met, he has to perform an Instrument Proficiency Check after a total of 12 months.

bottom of page

Instrument Proficieny Check (IPC)

Ein Instrument Proficiency Check (IPC) ist dann erforderlich, wenn die zur Erhaltung der Gültigkeit der Instrumentenflugberechtigung vorgeschriebenen Kriterien nicht mehr erfüllt werden, d.h. wenn VFR Wetterbedingungen nicht mehr gegeben sind und der verantwortliche Flugzeugführer nach Instrumentenflugregeln fliegen möchte. Die Kriterien lauten:

Innerhalb der vergangenen 6 Monate müssen geflogen und gelogged worden sein unter aktuellen oder simulierten IFR Bedingungen entweder im Flug in der entsprechenden Typenklasse für die angestrebte Instrumentenflugberechtigung oder im Flugsimulator oder in einem Flugübungsgerät, das repräsentativ ist für die Typenklasse, für die die Instrumentenflugberechtigung angestrebt wird:

 

  • mindestens 6 Instrumentenanflüge

  • Holdings

  • Anschneiden und Nachfliegen von Radialen unter Benutzung der Navigationssysteme

Beim US-Flight Training Center gliedert sich der IPC in zwei Teile:

Theorie
Besprechung der für die IFR-Fliegerei relevanten Vorschriften und Verfahren, Notfallprozeduren, Wetterinformation, Flugplanung incl. Karten.

Praxis
Fliegen der gängigen Präzisions- und Nicht-Präzisions-Anflugverfahren (Precision und Non-Precision Approaches) einschließlich Fehlanflugverfahren, STARs und SIDs, full / partial panel Übungen, Abfangen aus ungewöhnlicher Fluglage, Erfliegen von Radialen (VOR) und stehenden Peilungen (NDB), holdings, Simulation von Notfällen. Grundlage und Limits sind die Practical Test Standards (PTS) zum Erwerb des Instrument Rating.

Gültigkeit
6 Monate bis zum Monatsende. Innerhalb der nächsten 6 Monate besteht die Möglichkeit, mit einem Safety Pilot die geforderten Anflüge, Holdings und Intercepts zu erfliegen. Sofern die Kriterien danach noch nicht erfüllt sind, muß nach ingesamt 12 Monaten ein IPC abgelegt werden.

KONTAKT

Bitte sprechen Sie mich an - ich freue mich, Sie kennenzulernen!


Constantin Woelki


cw@us-ftc.com
Fon: +49 173 66 222 99
Fax: +49 911 30844 00694

 

©2020 by US-ftc, all rights reserved.