top of page

Flight School

 

In the US there are two types of flight schools: FAR Part 61 and FAR Part 141 flight schools. Both types of flight schools differ in their training system, partly in their ground and flight hours required and in their FAA approval (Federal Aviation Administration is the principal US authority for aviation affairs, comparable to the German Luftfahrt-Bundesamt).

 

What schools suits you best has to be evaluated in cooperation with your flight instructor, depending upon your time and financial capabilities and the planned flying career. In any case you receive a thorough and sound training with identical fields of knowledge in both types of flight schools.

 

FAR Part 61 Training

 

A FAR Part 61 training means that every Certified Flight Instructor (CFI) and every Part 61 flight school that trains pilots commercially can -within the course of their licencing- give ground and flight instruction according to clearly identified contents. The contents for the ground schools are defined, minimum hours for ground school, however, are not prescribed. Content and miminum flight hours are required for the flight training.

 

The exams consist of the following parts:

 

  • Written test (knowledge test) to be done on a computer in a so called Test Center. A completed home study course is sufficient. Prerequisite for the exam admission: Endorsement by a Certified Flight Instructor who verifies and confirms the candidate's preparation. The validity of such a written exam is 24 months.

  • Oral test

  • Practical test (checkride) according to the Airmen Certification Standards for the respective license desired

  • A FAR Part 61 flight school is neither approved nor controlled by the FAA.

 

FAR Part 141 Training

 

A FAR Part 141 training, however, consists of a fixed training program (course) that is defined in the respective syllabus for each licence / rating. Ground and practical training is subdivided into training blocks (stages) that each are terminated by passing a stage check and end-of-course test. Without having passed these exams the next block of training sessions cannot be started. E.g., when applying for a PPL, the ground school consists of 3 stages with a minimum of 15 hours, the practical training consists of a total of 5 stages with at least 26 flights. The exam -after passing the stage checks und end-of-course tests- consists of the following parts like in a FAR Part 61 exam: 

  • Written test (knowledge test); to be done on a computer in a so called Test Center. Prerequisite for admission to exam: Endorsement by a Certified Flight Instructor, who verifies and confirms the candidate's preparation. The validity of such a written exam is 24 months.

  • Oral test

  • Practical test (checkride) according to the Airmen Certification Standards for the respective license desired

 

A FAR Part 141 flight school is checked by the FAA on a regular basis and is approved for a specific period only depending e.g. on the pass rate of the students.

bottom of page

Flugschulen

In den USA sind zwei Typen von Flugschulen zu unterscheiden: FAR Part 61 und FAR Part 141 Flugschulen. Der Unterschied besteht in dem Ausbildungssystem, z.T. in den Stundenanforderungen und in der FAA-Zulassung (Federal Aviation Administration ist die oberste amerikanische Flugbehörde, vergleichbar mit dem deutschen Luftfahrtbundesamt).

Welche Schule sich für wen am besten eignet, sollte in Abstimmung mit dem Fluglehrer, den zeitlichen und finanziellen Rahmenbedingungen und den weiteren fliegerischen Planungen erfolgen. In jedem Fall erhalten Sie bei beiden Flugschulen-Typen eine fundierte und solide Ausbildung mit identischen Wissensinhalten.


FAR Part 61 Ausbildung


Eine FAR Part 61 Ausbildung bedeutet, dass jeder Certified Flight Instructor (CFI) bzw. jede Part 61 Flugschule, die gewerblich Pilotenausbildung betreibt, im Rahmen der vorhandenen Lizensierung Theorie- und Flugunterricht gem. genau spezifizierter Inhalte erteilt. Die theoretischen Ausbildungsinhalte sind zwar definiert, es ist aber keine Mindeststundenzahl vorgegeben. Für den praktischen Flugunterricht sind Ausbildungsinhalte sowie eine Mindeststundenzahl vorgeschrieben.

 

Die Prüfung gliedert sich in folgende Teile:
 

  • schriftliche Prüfung (knowledge test) abzulegen in einem sog. Test Center am PC. Als Vorbereitung genügt hier ein erfolgreich abgeschlossener Fernlehrgang (home study course). Voraussetzung zur Prüfungszulassung: Endorsement von einem Certified Flight Instructor, der die ordnungsgemäße Vorbereitung prüft und abzeichnet. Die Gültigkeit einer bestandenen schriftlichen Prüfung besteht 24 Monate.

  • mündliche Prüfung (oral test)

  • praktische Prüfung (checkride) gem. den Airmen Certification Standards für die jeweils angestrebte Lizenz


Eine FAR Part 61 Flugschule ist nicht von der FAA zugelassen und wird nicht von ihr überwacht.

 

                                                      FAR Part 141 Ausbildung


Für eine FAR Part 141 Ausbildung dagegen gilt ein festes Ausbildungsprogramm (Course), das in den jeweiligen Syllabus pro Lizenz /Berechtigung fixiert ist. Theoretischer und praktischer Unterricht sind in Ausbildungsblöcke (Stages) eingeteilt, die jeweils mit einer Zwischenprüfung abgeschlossen werden. Ohne eine bestandene Zwischenprüfung kann der nächste Ausbildungsabschnitt nicht begonnen werden. Für den Erwerb des PPL beispielsweise umfasst der Theorieunterricht 3 Stages mit mindestens 15 Unterrichtsstunden, das praktische Flugtraining insgesamt 5 Stages mit mindestens 26 Einzelflügen.

 

Die Prüfung - nach Ablegen der Stage-Checks und end-of-course tests - gliedert sich wie die FAR Part 61 Prüfung in folgende Teile:
 

  •  schriftliche Prüfung (knowledge test); abzulegen in einem sog. Test Center am PC.


Voraussetzung zur Prüfungszulassung:


Endorsement von einem Certified Flight Instructor, der die ordnungsgemäße Vorbereitung prüft und abzeichnet.


Die Gültigkeit einer bestandenen schriftlichen Prüfung beträgt 24 Monate.
 

  • mündliche Prüfung (oral test)

  • praktische Prüfung (checkride) gem. den Airmen Certification Standards für jeweils angestrebte Lizenz 



Eine FAR Part 141 Flugschule wird von der FAA regelmäßig überwacht und erhält nur eine befristete Zulassung, die in Abhängigkeit von den nachgewiesenen Prüfungserfolgen verlängert wird.

KONTAKT

Bitte sprechen Sie mich an - ich freue mich, Sie kennenzulernen!


Constantin Woelki


cw@us-ftc.com
Fon: +49 173 66 222 99
Fax: +49 911 30844 00694

 

©2020 by US-ftc, all rights reserved.